Tag Archives: National Championship

Central Penn Wins Second GDFL Championship In Two Years

The Central Penn Piranha won its second GDFL National Championship in three years. The Piranha from the state of Pennsylvania defeated the Oklahoma City Bounty Hunters 21-19 in Gridiron Bowl V in the Memphis suburb of Cordova, TN this past weekend.

There was no scoring in the second half. Oklahoma led 21-19 at he break and won by that same score.

The Piranha became the first-ever two time champion in GDFL history. The GDFL has remained on the scene with quality football in a vast number of markets. The league will be entering its 6th season in 2015.

4th Annual GDFL Gridiron Bowl National Championship Set

The Gridiron Developmental Football League will crown a brand new champion when they hold their fourth annual national championship game coined “The Gridiron Bowl IV” September 7th in Memphis, TN. The Oklahoma Thunder (10-0) won the Midwest Division and Impact Conference championships and are making their second championship game appearance in three seasons and are seeking their first ever GDFL National Championship. Oklahoma had their 53-game winning streak snapped in the 2011 national championship game losing to the Chambersburg Cardinals 19-14.

The Thunder enter the game scoring a league-leading best 207 points in the 4th quarter and average 44.0ppg in 2013 scoring 40 or more points in seven games. Quarterback Brandon Noohi has thrown for 2,622 yards 21 touchdowns and only two interceptions. Ex-NFL player and minor league veteran wide receiver Prentiss Elliot has rang up 1,107 yards receiving with 12 touchdowns, returned six punts for touchdowns in only 10 returns and has three kickoff return touchdowns for a total of 21 touchdowns this season. Running back Derrick Hunt leads the Thunder ground attack with 863 yards and 10TDs.

Wilson Youman (16 sacks) and CB Boyd (15 sacks) have combined for 31 sacks this season while Curtis Dawson and Kelvin Cato each has 5 interceptions this season for a Thunder defense that is allowing opponents on average 9.4ppg with five shutouts. Bill Perry has been solid in the kicking game going 24-24 on extra-point attempts.

Thunder and Storm face off for the GDFL National Championship
Thunder and Storm face off for the GDFL National Championship

The Thunder will tackle the Lehigh Valley Storm (8-2). Lehigh is making their first GDFL National Championship game appearance and are the Keystone Division champs and Xtreme Conference champs. When opponents score on Lehigh Valley it usually means they win as has been the case in two-of-three games this season. On the other side the Storm have seven shutouts allowing opponents only 7.6ppg while putting up 26.2ppg in 2013. The most lopsided loss for the Storm was a 42-0 beatdown in the season opener to the 2012 GDFL defending champion Central Penn Piranha while their other loss came to the Lancaster Lightning 28-17.

This will be the first meeting between both teams as members of the GDFL and in recorded minor league football history. Tickets for the game can be purchased directly through the league website here.

Previous GDFL Gridiron Bowl National Champions:
2010 Carolina Warriors
2011 Chambersburg Cardinals
2012 Central Penn Piranha
2013 TBD

Stay tuned for further updates as the Gridiron Bowl IV approaches.