Tag Archives: Carrollton

Cedar Shoals Wins Track & Field State Title

The Cedar Shoals Jaguars entered the Georgia class 5A Track & Field state championships  in Carrollton, GA as a one of the favorites to take the state title along with Grady and Southwest Dekalb.

Rogerous Swain won the triple jump state championship, Markell Allen finished third in the triple jump and Michael Horvat picked up two points in the high jump with a seventh place finish giving the Jaguars 18 points to sit fourth after the field events.

The strength of the Jaguars was its depth in the running events as Cedar Shoals had multiple participants qualify for the finals in the 100M and 200M as well as the 300M hurdle events.

Trent Harris finished sixth while Rogerous Swain finished eighth to earn the Jaguars four points in the 100M. Harris ran a time of 11.00 while Swain ran an 11.04. Southwest Dekalb’s Terryon Conwell won the event with a time of 10.83.

Markell Allen and Rogerous Swain finished fourth and fifth in the 200M to earn the Jaguars five points. Allen finished with a time of 22.04 while Swain ran a 22.08. Southwest Dekalb’s Terryon Conwell won the event with a time of 21.68.

Photo Courtesy: Georgia Prep Sports Network

Lirante Jackson picked up two points with a seventh place finish in the 400M with a time of 49.35. Southwest Dekalb’s Terryon Conwell won the event with a time of 47.59.

Jon Oglesby picked up a point with his eight place finish in the 800M with a time of 2:04.98. Decatur’s Sam Ellis won the event with a time of 1:51.85.

Ashton Daniel picked up 16 points with his runner-up finishes in the 110M and 300M hurdles with times of 14.57 and 38.41 respectively. Cameron Hudson finished sixth in the 300M with a time of 40.34 to earn three points. Grady’s Christian McNair-Jones won both events with times of 14.17 and 38.28 respectively.

The 4x100M relay team of Markell Allen, Ashton Daniel, Trent Harris, Rogerous Swain with alternates Jon Oglesby and Formetrius Jones won the state title in this event with a time of 40.74. The Jags time was the tied for the fastest time in the event including prelims and finals matching Grady’s 4x100M prelim time. Grady didn’t not score in the finals due to a DNF.

Markell Allen, Ashton Daniels, Lirante Jackson, Rogerous Swain along with alternates Trent Harris and Formetrius Jones put the icing on the cake with a runner-up finish in the final event, the 4x400M relay with a time of 3:19.90 to earn the final eight points. Fayette County won the event with a time of 3:17.82. Southwest Dekalb’s team led by Terryon Conwell was disqualified on false starts however even with a first place finish and DNF from the Jaguars they would not have been able to catch them as the Jaguars had a 12-point lead entering the event. Grady did not have a team qualify for the finals.

Cedar Shoals finished with 71 points to come out on top by a 20-point margin to win its first state championship since 2005 and fourth in school history. The Jaguars also won state titles in 2001 and 2003 and finished as the runner-up in 2000, 2013 and 2016.

Southwest Dekalb finished second with 51 points while Grady finished third with 50 points. Host Carrollton finished tied for fourth with Starr’s Mill with 41 points.

Georgia Track & Field Team State Champions (points):
7A Boys- Westlake (62), 7A-Girls- Westlake (75)

6A Boys- Allatoona (58), 6A Girls- Mays (62.50)

5A Boys- Cedar Shoals (71), 5A Girls- Buford (100)

4A Boys- Marist (70.50) 4A Girls- Chapel Hill (66)

3A Boys- Cedar Grove (71) 3A Girls- Greater Atlanta Christian (114)

2A Boys- Vidalia (71), 2A Girls- Jeff Davis (71)

1A Private Boys- Eagles Landing Christian Academy (77); 1A Private Girls- Athens Academy (88)

1A Public Boys- Hancock Central (71), 1A Public Girls- Telfair County (81)


Jonesboro Repeats As Georgia 4A Champions

The Jonesboro Cardinals (32-1) ascended to the top of the basketball world in Georgia for the second consecutive season with it’s 55-50 victory over Carrollton (29-3) in the 4A state championship game.

The Cardinals used a 7-0 spurt behind a Tracy Hector Jr bucket followed by a James Walker Jr three-pointer and hoop for a 35-25 lead in the third quarter. Carrollton would pull to within five at the end of the third quarter for a 37-32 score heading to the fourth.

Carrollton’s Jarel Rowe scored on a putback to tie the game at 39-all with just over five minutes remaining. Tracy Hector Jr again sparked a Jonesboro run scoring a bucket and getting fouled. He missed the free throw but Jonesboro got the rebound and Hector Jr scored again and was fouled. He again missed the free throw and Jonesboro again got the rebound and finished the possession with a Tracy Hector Jr tip-in for a six-point possession and a 45-39 lead with 3:44 left.

Carrollton would not go down easy pulling to within one on a Donate Bonner three-pointer with 4.3 seconds left. From there Jonesboro’s Walker Jr closed the game making four consecutive free throws for the final 55-50 margin.

Walker Jr finished with 21 points while Tracey Hector Jr filled up the box score with 20 points 10 rebounds and 7 steals.Hector Jr turned three of those seven steals directly into points on the other end. As a team Jonesboro forced 17 Carrollton turnovers scoring 24 points off of them.  Austin Donaldson added 10 for the Cardinals.

Jonesboro ends the season with a 31-game winning streak, 5-1 vs non-Georgia opponents, did not lose to a Georgia opponent this season and look to finish in the Top 10 of the Max Preps Xcellent 25- they are currently ranked eighth. The Cardinals only loss this season came to second-ranked Montverde Academy (FL) in the second game of the season.

Monate Glenn lead Carrollton with 22 points (14 in the first half) and 11 rebounds. Cooper Criswell finished with eight while Dontae Bonner and Desmond Webb each had seven for the Trojans.

Tradition-Rich Griffin And Carrollton Advance To Georgia 4A State FInals

The Griffin Bears (14-0) got off to a slow start against Wayne County a week removed from eliminating top-ranked Sandy Creek. The Bears recovered to rally past Wayne County 25-20 to earn their spot in the class 4A championship. Trailing 14-6 at the half, Griffin scored 19 unanswered points to take a 25-14 lead.

Jaquez Parks rushed for a touchdown and passed for a touchdown while Anforne Stroud returned an interception for a touchdown for the Bears. Griffin won their 14th game in a season for the first time since 1980 when they went 14-1. The Bears are averaging 33.25ppg while allowing 13.25ppga with a shutout in the playoffs.

Carrollton and Marist love overtimes. Marist outlasted Carrollton last season in five overtimes to advance in the playoffs. This season the teams played four overtimes with Carrollton stopping a Marist two-point conversion to advance 46-44. Jarvis Terrell had three rushing touchdowns, quarterback Will Garrett rushed for two touchdowns and DeAntonie Cammons returned an interception for a touchdown for the Trojans. Terrell scored from six yards out and converted the two-point conversion in the fourth overtime forcing Marist to get a score and successful two-point play if they wanted to extend the game, Chase Martenson was stopped short on the two-point attempt.

Martensen rushed for two touchdowns and passed for another and Marcus Miller rushed for a touchdown and passed for a touchdown for the War Eagles.

Carrollton (13-1) will be going for their eighth state championship and first since 1998 when they take on Griffin in the finals. The Trojans and Bears will be meeting for the first time in modern history.