Coin Toss, Championship Venue Updates

The Elite Eight will begin next week and some home venues needed to be decided by a coin flip due to both teams being the same seed. The results are in for those games.

In class 7A Pebblebrook will host Norcross while Tift will travel to Newton. Pebblebrook defeated Norcross in December in the Tournament of Champions Fab Four bracket championship. Grayson is the lone three-seed in the quarterfinals. The Rams will host the lone four-seed remaining in Brookwood. Wheeler is the only two-seed remaining and will travel to McEachern. McEachern defeated Wheeler in December in the Tournament of Champions National bracket championship game.

In class 5A Buford will host Warner Robins while Fayette County will host Carver-Atlanta. Lithonia (13-16) is the only four-seed and only team with a losing record in the 5A quarterfinals. The Bulldogs will travel to Cedar Shoals Wednesday. Cedar Shoals and Riverwood are the only two-seeds remaining in the quarterfinals. Riverwood will travel to Miller Grove.

In class 4A LaGrange will host Henry County while Carver-Columbus will host St. Pius X. Perry and Thomson and three-seeds that are in the quarterfinals. Perry will travel to twp-seeded Sandy Creek while Thomson will travel to one-seed Upson-Lee.

In class 3A Pace Academy will host Westside-Macon while Calhoun will host Jenkins.

In class 2A Washington County will host top-ranked South Atlanta while Swainsboro will host Chattooga.

Class 6A did not have any games where the venue had to be determined by a coin flip.

May the hoop be with you

In girls class 7A the No.1 and No.2 teams Norcross and McEachern will play on the road in the quarterfinals. Unranked Westlake will host top-ranked Norcross. Norcross has not lost to a team from Georgia this season. Mill Creek will host McEachern. McEachern has not lost to an opponent all season in a true road game as all six of their losses have came on a neutral floor. Archer will host Colquitt County. Colquitt County is in the quarterfinals for the first time in since 2006 and fourth time in school history.

In class 5A Eagles Landing will host Southwest Dekalb. The No.1 and No.2 teams in the state will play on the road in the quarterfinals when Maynard Jackson will host top-ranked Griffin and Warner Robins will host second-ranked Buford.

Carver-Columbus will host Jefferson in class 4A while unranked Tatnall County will host Greater Atlanta Christian in class 3A.

All eight one-seeds in Class 2A make up the Elite Eight. Top-ranked Laney will travel to Heard County. Hapeville Charter will host Bleckley, Rabun County will host Fitzgerald, and second-ranked Model will host Bryan County.

As with the boys Class 6A did not have any games where the venue had to be determined by a coin flip.


Georgia also released the classification locations for the state finals. Stegeman Coliseum on the campus of the University of Georgia will host the 6A, 5A, 3A and 1A Public Finals. The 1A Public and A finals will be played on Wednesday March 8th. The 6A and 3A finals will be played on Thursday March 9th.

McCamish Pavilion on the campus of Georgia Tech will host the 7A, 4A, 2A and 1A Private finals.  The 4A and 1A Private finals will be played on Friday March 10th. The 2A and 7A finals will be played on Saturday March 11th.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s