Mays Head Coach Out

Corey Jarvis is out as head football coach at Mays High School. Late Tuesday night the Atlanta Board of Education accepted the Tribunal’s findings of facts and recommendation to terminate Jarvis’ employment in a 5-4 vote from August.

An investigation launched by Atlanta Public Schools in January found more than $10,000 unaccounted for the Mays football program. More than $6,000 were in football receipts that were recorded by Jarvis that were untraceable and over $4,000 that was collected by him.

In a letter posted on his Facebook page hours after the decision came down  Jarvis addressed the issue. In part the letter said, “I know now I have to speak about the money issues that have been brought up. I in no way am a thief and I know where all of the money that I have collected for years have gone. It has always gone towards my programs. I am innocent of stealing but I am guilty of not following proper procedures in bookkeeping by mistakenly putting wrong dates in receipt books and not depositing it to the school account instead of paying for camps with cash when kids gave cash for camps. I know that I paid the camps in cash and that makes the money add up but it doesn’t refute that I was wrong on not following APS procedures. I know I wasn’t trained on all procedures but I should have done a better job of making wise decisions to protect myself as a teacher first, my students and my family.”

SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A503
Former Mays head coach Corey Jarvis looks on during a game in 2013 

In three full seasons at Mays, Jarvis posted a 30-9 record, advanced to at least the second round of the playoffs each season and were 2014 5A state runner-ups. In eleven seasons at M.L. King, Duluth and Mays he has compiled a 91-38 record, not including Mays’ 1-1 start this season.

Jarvis had also served as the head track coach and had been on paid administrative leave since May.

Mays (1-1) is currently under the direction of interim head coach Niketa Battle. The Raiders open region 5-6A play this weekend against Langston Hughes (2-0).

Leave a Reply

