Top Point Guard Picks Tennessee

Te’a Cooper has led McEachern to two state championships the past three seasons, is the No. 1 point guard in the class of 2015 and was recently named to the USA Women’s Under 17 national team.

Family, friends, supporters and coaches assembled at the trampoline playground Sky Zone in Kennesaw to watch the 5’8 rising senior eliminated Pitt, Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina before choosing to play her college ball for the Tennessee Lady Volunteers.

“I chose Tennessee because it was everything I wanted,” Cooper said. “The coaching staff, the team, university and the education was everything I was looking for.”

TC2 will hoop for the Lady Vols
TC2 will hoop for the Lady Vols

Cooper originally committed to North Carolina before her freshman year of high school. Prior to the 2013-14 season she decided to open up her recruiting again.

“I just felt like everything changed at North Carolina and I just wanted to make sure I was making the right decision. I felt like I needed to take my time and see everything that was going on, everything was changing,” Cooper stated. “I figured I needed to change too.”

The 5-star recruit is ranked 12th in the 2015 ESPN Hoop Gurlz Top 60 recruiting rankings. She averaged 19.6 points, 5.8 assist and 4.4 steals a game this past season for the McEachern Lady Indians.

“I’m so overwhelmed and so happy for her,” McEachern head coach Phyllis Arthur said. “She’s the first Tennessee basketball player that I’ve had. It means a lot to the team, community, McEachern that she committed to Tennessee and that she’s a USA player, she’s doing it up for us at McEachern.”

The decision comes before a busy summer continues when the USA Womens U17 Basketball team begins training next week in Colorado Springs. The U17 team is going for its third consecutive gold medal. Last years U16 team won the gold medal however Cooper did not make the team.

“Yes I’m so excited I made the USA team,” the beaming Cooper responded when asked about playing in the world championships. ‘I can’t wait to go to Paris and the Czech Republic.” “I just took (not making the team last year) as motivation.”

Leave a Reply

