Cedar Shoals Falls Short At Bid For Track & Field State Championship; Kell Wins

The Cedar Shoals Jaguars have plenty of track and field history. The Jags were the last Class 4A track team to win back to back state championships at the Georgia Olympics when they did it in 2002 and 2003. The boys from the Eastside of Athens also won the state championship in 2005. They got their bid at winning in 2012 off to a solid start when the state championships got underway with the field events on Thursday however did not have enough in the running events to secure the state championship.

Kell wins the Class 4A State Championship with Sprayberry and Creekside rounding out the Top 3. Cedar Shoals finished with 26 points as they did not score in the running event finals on Saturday.

Jamario Calhoun was the considered to be one of the best all around athletes at the State Championships and he went out and added hardware for conformation. Calhoun won the Class 4A state title in the long jump with a leap of 23-5.25 and the triple jump with a jump of 49-5.00. Calhoun’s leap in the long jump was not better than his jump at the Sectional when he jumped  23-9.00, however improved on his Sectional triple jump effort 49-0.00. Calhoun, who quallified for the 300 meter hurdle finals with a prelim time of 36.97, would miss his shot at a third state title in the 300 meter hurdles finals after falling down. Devon Williams of Kell won the state in the 300 meters with a time of 37.45, which was the fastest time across all classes in the event finals.

Cedar Shoals had 26 points going into the finals of the running events on Saturday. Ricky Clarke finished 6th in the shot put with a distance of 50-08.50 for 3 team points and Josh Bolden finished 6th in the triple jump with a distance of 44-11.00 which was good for 3 team points. Johnathan Fleming recorded a foul in the Discus and did not score any team points. The Jaguars only team running event on Saturday was in the 4×400 meter relay with the team consisting of Tay Bowens, Telvin Fleming,  Asa Smith and Jamario Calhoun after they ran the second fasted time of both heats with a 3:20.28. The Sprayberry team of Michael Newton, Patrick Dubois, Tye Richcardson and Willy Dorcin ran a 3:19.81. The Cedar Shoals 4×400 relay team would be disqualified in the finals, Sprayberry won the state in the 4×400 relay.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s